wet & stupid

Can somebody please explain to me why reporters find it necessary to report on storms by standing out in the rain in their silly ponchos? Do they think we won’t believe them unless they’re personally getting wet? I would believe it if they were in their hotel lobby, or a hospital or police station, though it might help to occasionally point the camera out the window. I do enjoy the visual aids.

I think there is a fundamental and deliberate stupidity at work here, which needs to be addressed because stupidity is contagious.