I know, it’s been a while. I’ve been busy. My doggie is sick. I had to take her to the vet, and now I’m watching her like a mother hawk.
Got a haircut today. In the next chair was the CEO of CKE, the corporation that owns Carls Jr and other restuarants, and which is headquartered in my area. At least I think it was him. They called him Andy, which is the first name of their CEO, and after he left the barbers said he was the head of Carls Jr and that he’s a really nice guy. I found a photo online, and it looks like the guy. I’m not going to link to it, because it’s on Fox News, and those guys are asshats.
The CEO was talking about the Paris Hilton burger ads they’re running. He said he’s been fielding e-mails which decry the ad as pornographic. He pointed out that there’s no nudity, no sex, no murder, no bad language, etc. And he’s right. I know it when I see it and that ain’t porno. And I just kept my mouth shut and listened, because I learn more than way. But it seems to me that as much as I support their First Amendment right to show us a wet, soapy Paris cavorting on a Bently and getting hosed down, I have to wonder if this tactic shows any respect at all for the people they’re trying to communicate with.
Using meat to sell meat is interesting, though, don’t you think? Reminds me of the walking, talking entrees in Douglas Adams’ Life the Universe and Everthing… or was it The Restaurant at the end of the Universe ? No matter, never mind. The thing is I’ve felt even more inclined than usual to drive past their burger joints since that ad started, because it seems like if I go there it means I’m every bit as bovine as they think I am; as much as the fatty, heart-stopping stuff they’re serving up.